Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Democrat Base Just Doesn’t Understand

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2009/09/06


Cue the Fresh Prince (Will Smith) rap song “Parents Just Don’t Understand.” Not that the song is tied all that closely to what I want to say, I just like that sing-song bubble-gum rap stuck in your head.

I have grown increasingly tired of liberals and Democrats (apparently the same thing) pointing out what Republicans in office have done as an inferred accusation of hypocrisy on the part of conservatives and Republicans (not necessarily the same thing) in the general population. Sometimes those liberals flat-out accuse grass-roots conservatives and Republicans of hypocrisy based on the actions of elected officials, not just inferring it.

I found a couple articles that explain the disconnect, but they don’t help me get over my frustration with having to repeatedly repeat myself redundantly. While a plurality of the Democrat base believes their counterparts in office hold similar views, a solid majority of the Republican base believes Republicans in office are out of touch with the grass-roots of the party.

I’ll give you three quotes in the hopes that you link-surf to read the articles yourself.

Seventy-four percent (74%) of Republican voters say their party’s representatives in Congress have lost touch with GOP voters nationwide over the past several years. The latest Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey finds that just 18% of GOP voters believe their elected officials have done a good job representing the base.

While Republicans and unaffiliated voters tend to see Republicans in Congress as more liberal than Republican voters, a plurality of Democrats (35%) hold the opposite view and believe the average Republican in Congress is more conservative than GOP voters.

Just 27% of Democratic voters say the average Democratic member of Congress is more liberal than the average Democrat. A Rasmussen Reports national telephone survey found that 19% hold the opposite view and think the average Democrat in Congress is more conservative than the average Democratic voter.

This information sheds new light on the troubles conservatives have in getting liberals to actually listen to what is being said instead of just giving a deaf ear and a knee-jerk “you do it, too” reaction. But that still does not help me end my frustration with liberals who could easily find out I’m not beholden to the (R) in power and I don’t necessarily agree with the (R) in power. Those liberals choose not to do any research whatsoever before making those accusations. And now I know why. They’re projecting their own views that their party powers are the same as them onto their opponents (who do not at all hold those views).

Again, that proof of my assumption does not relieve my frustration at having to redundantly repeat my oft-stated “Republicans in office do not speak for me.”

9 Responses to “Democrat Base Just Doesn’t Understand”

  1. […] in office do not speak for me.” ___________________________________ Cross Posted on Truth Before Dishonor Category: Culture and Society, Politics, Real life  |  Comment (RSS) […]

    Like

  2. […] And Republican leadership is more liberal than Republican base. As I clearly showed in another article I […]

    Like

  3. […] I already showed how idiotic the “Conservative = Republican” meme is in my article Democrat Base Just Doesn’t Understand. I have repeatedly stated GWB was no Conservative. And the idiot leftists still trot out their meme […]

    Like

  4. […] is very important for the “governing classes” to see. As I reported previously, the Republican base says, overwhelmingly, that the GOP “governing class” is out of […]

    Like

  5. […] Sense Politic… on Republicans Come In First…Republicans Come In … on Democrat Base Just Doesn…Common Sense Politic… on Lights Of The Season, Part…Common Sense Politic… on […]

    Like

  6. […] I previously reported, the Republican base has said the Republican power structure is out of touch. In fact, Republicans […]

    Like

  7. […] I previously reported, the Republican base has said the Republican power structure is out of touch. In fact, Republicans […]

    Like

  8. […] far, I’ve painted a rosy picture for Republicans and Conservatives (not necessarily the same thing). But history shows a different picture. Do you remember the 1994 elections, where Republicans were […]

    Like

  9. […] far, I’ve painted a rosy picture for Republicans and Conservatives (not necessarily the same thing). But history shows a different picture. Do you remember the 1994 elections, where Republicans were […]

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.