Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Fall Trees

Posted by Yorkshire on 2014/10/18


IMG_1887a

5 Responses to “Fall Trees”

  1. DNW said

    Let’s see if I can post up this image.

    Presbyterian Church

    I’ll try a couple more, though none are inspired. From last year in the yard.

    First, a persimmon, before the change,

    Next, during the change,

    Finally, just the fruit …

    Of course lumbering can take place anytime. Here’s some nice white ash I had cut and took delivery on two seasons ago this fall. Stacked it in the barn for drying. Mostly plain sawn, but I intend to plane it and see if any is fit for floor planking in natural widths.

    Might as well look at the trail up to the barn from the cottage while we are at it,

    Nothing special in any of this, but thought you might like to see them anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yorkshire said

    DNW, Very good. Nice clear crisp Autumn Day

    Like

  3. I hate fall. I don’t like the turning of the leaves, nor the chill in the air, nor the upcoming global warming I have to scrape off my windshield and beat off my tire chains. I want to move to a tropical island somewhere in the Pacific, and I have 2 or 3 possible locations on my target map. Whether it will ever happen or not, now that is an entirely different question.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. DNW said

    I used to like it a good deal more than I do now, being probably more burdened with responsibilities, and being less romantic in the sense of liking atmospheric premonitory environments, than I used to be.

    The memory of arriving on campus another year, the idea of football. the hallowed halls revisited, and all the other stale tropes, do to some extent resonate with me as well.

    Then there are the cider mill trips, Halloween for the kids, bird and deer hunting, and all that other good stuff.

    Unfortunately, many of the outdoor activities people used to psychologically stoke up on prior to winter, have been basically abandoned in our rather sickly society. Imagine raking and burning leaves on a bright Sunday afternoon nowadays. It hardly lasted through my own childhood. By the time I was 10 or 12 it was an issue.

    I’m really fed up with the political burdens that have come with coddling and sharing a political space with worthless f**ked-up neurasthenic sensitive types, and their never-ending needs and wants, and neuroses, and their ceaseless pseudo-moral claims against the lives of everyone else. No wonder all they manage to do recreationally is to play with their cell phones and take pictures of themselves.

    Fall just becomes another season of regulations and political hysteria.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yorkshire said

    Of course lumbering can take place anytime. Here’s some nice white ash I had cut and took delivery on two seasons ago this fall. Stacked it in the barn for drying. Mostly plain sawn, but I intend to plane it and see if any is fit for floor planking in natural widths.

    DNW, I’ve done this two or three times with Walnut boards. My “stickers” were usually 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. As I was originally instructed I was to seal the ends with paint to keep from checking or splitting. Also, for even drying, I would about every month or two rotate the boards 180deg and flipp the board over. In doing that I never had a problem. I bought 1 inch and 2 rough saw boards. Unfortunately I could not get quater sawn boards, but plane cut. Over the years I’ve made a solid 2 inch thick trestle table, a corner cabinet with leaded glass doors, a sofa table, a plant table for my M-i-L, but we have it now, a square curio cabinet with two of the backs in mirrors, A trianglular corner cabinet for a TV Stand with under storage, a few small misc. things and my daughter made a high end bird house. And still have enough around for a medium size project.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.