Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Blogging Meme

Posted by Foxfier on 2012/09/07


I’d like to know – if you blog for other reasons versus blogging intentionally to build a platform for your writing/your apostolate/your cat – and I am not saying that it’s bad to try to boost blog traffic:

1. If that’s not your primary focus, what enjoyment do you derive from blogging?

2. Do you consider yourself to be a “successful” blogger? In what sense?

3. If you could choose between having a post shared 500 times, or having one of your Internet Idols send you an email to say “I really enjoyed your post,” which would you choose?

From over at Darwin Catholic’s place, shared from a gal trying to figure out why we’d do this for no pay. *grin*  Other authors might want to respond, as well; not sure if the guy has backlinks turned on.

1) Well, I find blogging is a social outlet. I’m much better at typing than I am at talking, and it’s much harder to browbeat me online when I can bring out facts and evidence from objective sources at a moment’s notice.  It’s a place to say things worth saying, and that I just want to say.

2) I don’t think about it.  I wish that I remembered to write more often, I wish that I could sway folks better, I wish that I thought of great lines that I think of days later, I wish that I could develop some of the posts that I think of.  (Part of the addictive nature of Ricochet is that I can pop on for an instant, write a response, and leave.)

3) Definitely a nice email.  I have had emails from online idols—or comments, or “hey, read this!” type links!—and I have had posts shared.  One is pure pleasure, the other just makes it easier for trolls to find you.

6 Responses to “Blogging Meme”

  1. Hi, Foxfier! I’m so excited to have coined a MEME. Whee! Thanks for joining in!

    (but I am a lady, not a guy)

    Like

  2. Foxfier said

    Fixed!

    Like

  3. I get mail addressed to “Mr. Dorian Speed” at least once a week.

    Like

  4. Foxfier said

    I imagine Dana Pico, who also blogs here, gets some odd calls looking for a “Ms Dana.”

    Like

  5. Alright, I’ll bite (despite my being severely sleep-deprived currently).

    1) “Enjoyment” isn’t the right word. I’m not sure “fulfillment” is, either. But it’s closer. I started TBD with a singular goal in mind: to make a difference. TBD’s raison d’etre is best described in two sentences:

    All it takes for evil to succeed is for good people to do nothing.
    If not you, then who?

    2) I have had moderate success blogging from time to time. More people read the site than before, meaning it’s having a larger outreach. And some articles have been mentioned by much larger online people, creating a boost in viewership. So, while not having the impact and reach that I want, it is moderately successful.

    3) I don’t have idols. That aside, the choice for me is obvious. If a big-name online person takes the time to write an unsolicited letter to me, telling me how much he or she likes what I wrote, then that big-name person will have already told his or her readers about it. Meaning “500 hits? That would’ve been the first 5 or 6 minutes of the site bombardment.” And I’ve had a few mini-lanches caused by bigger names linking me. Me likey. It goes back to my statements in 1 and 2 above.

    Like

  6. And I forgot to click that little box.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.