Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Archive for May 22nd, 2011

Truth Before Dishonor + Facebook

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2011/05/22

I have now created a Truth Before Dishonor page on Facebook to go along with my NetworkedBlogs syndication. Hopefully I’ll learn something so I can make my TBD FB page remotely presentable. Or maybe not.

Anyway, I hope you “like” my FB page and I hope I can fix it up sometime.

Posted in Blogging Matters | Tagged: | Comments Off on Truth Before Dishonor + Facebook

Herman Cain and Israel

Posted by Foxfier on 2011/05/22

…I’m not seeing the big problem.

Here’s the quote, at the location I read it:

“I don’t think Israel has any problem with Palestinians’ returning,”

Don’t think like a politician, think like a normal human who didn’t know what all the baggage involved in “right of return” might be, not being familiar with the term itself.

I KNOW that Israel doesn’t have a problem with Palestinians being in Israel, and I’m guessing that they care more about “are you a freaking psycho who wants to kill us?” than “did your ancestors ever live in the area” or even “were your ancestors at any level among those who attacked our nation?”

It’s the same trick used for “are you pro-choice?” or “do you want to protect the environment?” or even “do you believe in global warming?”

Heck, I don’t even like talking about “Palestinians” as some kind of racial group— a quasi-national-regional-political one?  OK, even though it goes back to the Romans being blankers to the Jews, which isn’t really odd.

I’d guess Mr. Cain doesn’t know enough to respond “how about letting the Palestinians return to their home nations like Jordan?” or any other really cool response.

Heh, while checking to see if there was a video of the answer like I remembered, I noticed that I’m not the only one who took the answer this way.

K, watched the video.

“The Palestinian right of return” is NOT an explanation when someone responds “right of return?”
I thought the interviewer had at least said something like “the ability for those Palestinians who use to live in the land that is now Israel to return to Israel.”  Sure, the interviewer explained it a little more afterwards, and Cain reiterated that IT IS UP TO ISRAEL. Not seeing a big problem, there, if one ignores the automatic baggage.  Anybody with some unbiased brain power knows that Israel, left to her own choices, is pretty good at surviving.

I know that I’d love to see the refugee camps gone.

Real important part of his quote: “It is up to Israel to determine what they will accept.”

Of course, I’m fond of this– from the primary source, the page for the Fox News interview:

Cain was asked what he’d give the Palestinian’s in a peace deal. He replied, “Nothing. Because I’m not convinced that the Palestinians are really interested in peace… if we look at history, it has been clear that the Palestinians have always wanted to push Israelis and push Israel for more and more and more.”

Come on, folks, don’t let people spin this into a story instead of a report.

Rather annoyed that Ms. Berlinski apparently got all that from a second or third hand source that couldn’t be bothered to link to even where the video would be. (The Commentary piece was posted at 9:19AM, no time zone listed; the Fox page I linked was put up at 11:16AM ET; it looks like Commentary is Pacific, but I don’t care enough to support that solidly.)

On the off hand, I’m laughing a bit because it’s WAY smaller than Daniels’ “truce” thing, with far less polish involved… and it sure seems like a bunch of angry Daniels fans are jumping on it, though that may be a bit of bias on my part.  Only good salad bar I’ve ever had at a pizza place– let alone one aimed at families– was at a Godfather’s.
(Very late flight, my mom came to pick me up, and there was NOTHING open besides that anywhere near the motel–  it was good enough that mom even enjoyed it.)

[Edit by JH] Cross-posted on Head Noises

Posted in Elections, Israel, media | Tagged: , , | 1 Comment »

Senate Democrats To Ignore Federal Law

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2011/05/22

From Power Line:

Reid confirmed on Thursday that the Democrats have no intention of giving the American people a plan to stave off fiscal disaster

That’s right, the Senate Democrats have no intention of breaking with their most recent tradition of ignoring the Law that states they need to have an annual budget. The Democrats have staked their illegal and unconstitutional position. Now, we need Common Sense Constitutional Conservatives to go in and clean up the mess the Democrats and Big Government Republicans made. And to do that, we’ll once again have to bypass the RNC, NRSC, NRCC just like we did in 2010. Our nation’s survival depends on it.

Posted in Character, Conservative, Constitution, crime, economics, Elections, Liberal, Personal Responsibility, Philosophy, politically correct, politics, society, Tax, TEA Party, truth | Tagged: , , , , , , | Comments Off on Senate Democrats To Ignore Federal Law

Mitch Daniels Declares

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2011/05/22

… that he is not running for the Republican nomination for President.

HT Hot Air headlines

From the Los Angeles Times:

May 21, 2011, 11:30 p.m.
WASHINGTON—
Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels said early Sunday that he won’t run for president because of family considerations, narrowing the field in the race for the GOP nomination.

“In the end, I was able to resolve every competing consideration but one,” Daniels said, disclosing his decision in an e-mail to supporters. “The interests and wishes of my family, is the most important consideration of all. If I have disappointed you, I will always be sorry.”

The e-mail, sent by the governor through Eric Holcomb, the Indiana Republican Party chairman and one of Daniels’ closest advisers, was confirmed by another aide close to Daniels on the condition of anonymity to avoid publicly pre-empting the governor’s announcement.

While many Republicans considered him Conservative, I personally considered him weak. And I wasn’t alone in that opinion. But the real question now is: Who will his supporters back? I believe due to his Conservative persona, his supporters won’t be backing Mitt Romney but rather another Conservative. T-Paw? Cain? Palin? That’s where I think his supporters will go, further weakening the squish opportunity for a 2008 repeat.

Posted in Conservative, Elections, politics, TEA Party | Tagged: , , | Comments Off on Mitch Daniels Declares