Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Fifth-Ranked Ohio State Beat Navy

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2014/08/30


And I would drop them, my lifetime favorite collegiate team, to 12. I didn’t watch the game, even though I’m on vacation, because it took place at 12:30 am. But upon reading ESPN’s recap, I don’t believe THE Ohio State University is Top Ten material… at least not right now. The redshirt freshman replacement quarterback is not ready for Prime Time. The nearly all new starting offense is not currently up for the task. The defensive backs were not tested at all, and a triple-option offense is an unusual creature to try to defend, but the defense is what kept the Buckeyes from losing.

It’s hard to determine the kicking game from just a few plays, but a 46 yard field goal and 2 50+ yard punts is promising. If the kicker can’t reach the uprights, the punter can flip the field. When the offense gets bogged down, and this offense will often, it’s good to have two feet on the team that can get the job done.

Time will tell, but I think Ohio State showed glaring weaknesses on offense and an untested defense.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
