Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Words To Think About

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2012/04/15


Back in the 1990s, I played a MUD called Mortal Realms (which is, for all intents and purposes, dead now). At one time I was an area creator and the Area Admin there. I created a list of sayings to be used in one of the quests I wrote. I’m sure I pinched those sayings from somewhere else, but they had been locked inside my head for a decade or two before I wrote the quest, so I have no idea as to the origins. But they are worth considering, I believe.

To get a job done, ask a busy person to do it.

You can attract more flies using honey than you can using vinegar.

If you wish to force a man to willingly leave his barricaded home, throw a nest of hornets through his window.

A true friend comes to your aid when he has other important matters at hand.

A false friend will not help you unless he has nothing better to do.

The measure of true wealth is not in your money or things, but in your number of friends and in your character.

Popularity is fickle, but your reputation will outlive you.

The greatest obstacle to your success is your own fear of failure.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
