Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

March Madness, 2012 Edition — The Elite Eight

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2012/03/24


The Elite Eight is set, and boy was I wrong. This is why I’m not a sportscaster. Well, one of the reasons, anyway. It’s why I don’t enter any sports pools (other than the fact they are mostly “wink and nod” illegal). I’m not very good at it.

I predicted Ohio State would beat Cincinnati by 6. Ohio State lost a 12-point lead and trailed Cincinnati before getting their blue-collar work ethic back and winning going away, by 15.

I predicted North Carolina would rest their starters around mid-way through the second half against Ohio, and win in a laugher. Ohio took North Carolina into overtime before succumbing.

I predicted Xavier would beat Baylor in overtime. Baylor won by 5 in regulation.

I predicted North Carolina State would beat Kansas on a final shot. Kansas beat NC State by 3.

I predicted Kentucky would beat Indiana by 4. Kentucky won by 12.

I predicted Syracuse would be the most likely 1 seed to fall, and gave Wisconsin even odds of accomplishing it. Syracuse won by a single point. Not a bad prediction on its own, but…

I predicted meatchicken state would beat Louisville (my declared weakest 4 seed in the Sweet 16) by 8. Louisville won by 13.

I predicted Florida would beat Marquette by double digits. Florida won by … 10. (Hurray, me.)

So, my Elite Eight predictions. And this time, no victory margins.

1 Kentucky beats 3 Baylor.
7 Florida beats 4 Louisville.
2 Ohio State beats 1 Syracuse.
2 Kansas beats 1 North Carolina.

That would leave 2 SEC teams, a Big Ten team, and a Big Twelve team.

4 Responses to “March Madness, 2012 Edition — The Elite Eight”

  1. Dana Pico said

    The idea that UK would beat IU by 4 wasn’t really that bad, because almost no one would have expected that high scoring a game. If someone had told me that Indiana would put up 90 points against the ‘Cats, I would have been sure that UK would have lost.

    Like

  2. Dana Pico said

    Well, you were 1 for 2 yesterday, as Rick Pitino’s University of Louisville Cardinals beat the Florida Gators. And if UK can beat Baylor this afternoon, we’ll have two Kentucky colleges in the Final Four, and the grudge match to end all grudge matches in the national semi-finals.

    Like

  3. Dana Pico said

    Our esteemed host went 3 for 4. I just wish it was UK-U of L in the finals, not the semi-finals, but the Bluegrass State will be hoppin’ on Saturday!

    Like

  4. […] Comments Is ‘Pro-Life Woman’ … on Is ‘Pro-Life Woman…Dana Pico on March Madness, 2012 Edition …Dana Pico on March Madness, 2012 Edition …Last Frontier Women … on Last Frontier Women […]

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
