Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Election Day, 2011

Posted by Dana Pico on 2011/11/08


I received an e-mail today from Reince Priebus, Chairman of the Republican National Committee:


Dear Pennsylvania Republicans,

Today is Election Day, and Republicans are counting on your vote.

With your help, we can elect principled Republican leaders to state and local office.

I hope you’ll exercise your right to vote today. Polls are open 7am – 8pm.

Sincerely,

Reince Priebus
Chairman, Republican National Committee


Paid for by the Republican National Committee.
310 First Street, SE – Washington, D.C. 20003 – (202) 863-8500
www.gop.com
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.

Unsubscribe

Copyright 2011 Republican National Committee

Well, the esteemed Mr Priebus can rest easy, because, as the button to the right indicates, I voted today!

In the Keystone State, what we have today are local elections, for the borough council, the school board, the county commission, and some ballots on retaining judges. Maybe some people don’t think those elections are important, but consider: I personally know the mayor of Jim Thorpe, I personally know some of the borough councilmen, and I personally know some of the members of the school board. If I need to speak to a county commissioner, I can.

Get above that level? Well, my state representative has met me, but I can’t say that he really knows me. I’ve never met the Governor, I’ve never met my congressman or Pennsylvania’s two senators, and I’ve never met the President of the United States. But, other than all of the money the federal government taxes away from me, the greatest impact of government on my life is at the state and local level; it’s the state which pays for the roads, and it’s the borough which plows the snow and picks up the trash.

Governor Rick Perry (R-TX), a candidate for President, said that his aim was to make the federal government inconsequential in our lives, and that’s the way it really should be. We have federalized far too much, in taxation, and in services, and then we wonder why the politicians don’t listen to us. It’s simple: they don’t know us!

Governor Perry may not win the Republican Presidential nomination, but his statement about federalism is right on target. We need our involvement with government to be far more at the local and state level, and the elections for those offices are important.

One Response to “Election Day, 2011”

  1. Yorkshire said

    I voted. I was #118 around noon. I know most of the people at the polling place, about half are neighbors. These are local elections, and for retention of Judges for the supremes, the state middle court, county judge and a local judge. The Supreme Court Judge was the commncement speaker at my son’s law school graduation.

    But back to the point. We may have about 2000 people for this precinct. I doubt 500 will show up. But a few of us were discussing one year from now. The polls open at 7am to 8pm. Like I said, I was #118 around noon. We were guessing in a year #118 will be there before 8am. And would suspect 1500 all day.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
