Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

For You MUDders Out There

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2011/10/26


If you don’t know what a MUD is, you’re not a kewl geek. If you do know what a MUD is, you might well enjoy this.

As a set-up to the log I’ll provide below, I need to provide background information. Shattered Kingdoms is a Roleplay/Player-killing MUD. Like other MUDs, all the players generally create “the best of the best” type characters. I changed it up a bit with this character.

In the game, there is a Harcourt Tower, with game-generated nobility. But there was no roleplay around it at all, so a friend of mine created the daughter of one of the Harcourt nobles and I created the House Magess, a bottom of the totem pole servant of the Harcourts. The girl was lower than all the Player Characters in the game, and knew her place in life. But she also knew her place in life meant she was forever tied to the Harcourts. Her life meant nothing; the lives of the Harcourts and associates of the Harcourts meant everything.

Okay, that’s enough background information for this 2008 log of MUD events.

Zafari tells you ‘I’d kill him to save space in this inn, but Aise would be upset.’
A red-haired male half-elf greets everyone in the room.
Aise greets everyone in the room.
Ezeant asks to Jance ‘Have you been murdering people lately?’
You reply to Zafari ‘He’s an enemy of all the missus’s friends, missus.’
Jance says to Ezeant ‘Not forr *hic* a long *hic* time..’
Aise raises an eyebrow at Ezeant.
You reply to Zafari ‘I’d kill him, too, if someone asked me to, missus.’
Jance says to Ezeant ‘People arrent rreally shcarred of a naked man.’
Ezeant asks to Jance ‘Not helping northerners?’
Zafari nods at you.
You reply to Zafari ‘Or I’d die trying.’
Ezeant looks at Jance.
Jance says to Ezeant ‘And naked men cant *hic* rreally do much.’
Ezeant says to Jance ‘That’s true.’
Aise stops resting, and clambers to her feet.
Aise starts to concentrate.
Aise utters the words, ‘qcandusahz yaae’.
A thin, dry wafer suddenly appears.
Aise eats a thin, dry wafer.
Aise sits down and rests.
Aise hums softly.
Zafari tells you ‘You have a fantastic will, M’lady. I would hope that before you decide to spend your time in the Harcourt manor that you might work with the Queen’s Army.’
Ezeant says to Jance ‘Well, me and zafari are going to go run around the city until we can’t.’
Ezeant says to Jance ‘For a walk.’
You reply to Zafari ‘I serve the Harcourts first and foremost, missus. Sorry, missus.’
Ezeant waves to Jance.
Jance asks ‘Which *hic* one’sg that?’
Jance looks blurry eyed around the room.
Jance looks at you.
Ezeant points excitedly at Aise!
You reply to Zafari ‘And I know my place, missus, that’s all.’
Ezeant chuckles.
Zafari says ‘Maybe we’ll kill a lone rogue along the way.’
Aise frowns.
Zafari rides a firebird down.
A trinoceros walks down.
You hear foot steps nearby.
Aise says ‘How nice…’
Jance says to Aise ‘Half-expected that.’
Aise shrugs.
Aise says ‘I think im off for now.’
Aise peers around herself intently.
Jance says to you ‘I’m Jance, ash yot well have hearrd.’
Zafari replies ‘I understand, M’lady.’
You say to Jance ‘I’m Mayumi Suulani, sire.’
You greet Jance.
Aise says to you ‘Take care, and stop apologizing so much.’
Aise winks.
Aise has left the realms.
A sable-black bay destrier wanders away.
Jance asks to you ‘You apologizf *hic* too much?’
You shrug.
You tell Zafari ‘Aise went home, missus.’
Jance says to you ‘You aint *hic* got nuttin to apologiye ferr.’
Jance asks to you ‘Have you hfarrd *hic* of me?’
You tell Zafari ‘shall I try to kill Jance, missus?’
Jance hiccups.
Zafari tells you ‘Well, I won’t say no.’
You say to Jance ‘Yes, sire.’
Zafari tells you ‘But the poor man is naked.’
Jance asks to you ‘What do *hic* they people shay?’
You stop resting, and sit up.
You start to concentrate.
You utter the words, ‘szculayuqann’.
Your petrification spell turns Jance to stone!
Jance is DEAD!!
The ghost of Jance eerily manifests out of the ether.
The ghost of Jance says ‘Why..’
You say ‘They say you’re an enemy of the Harcourts, sire.’
The ghost of Jance heaves a heavy sigh.
You say ‘And I serve the Harcourts, sire.’
You apologize profusely.
The ghost of Jance asks to you ‘You ttruck down a naked lan?’
The ghost of Jance asks to you ‘In a city where I am not a crimin`l?’
You apologize to him.
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘Where I sit peacegullz? ‘
You say to the ghost of Jance ‘You’re an enemy of the missus, sire.’
You say to the ghost of Jance ‘Sorry, but I had to.’
You apologize to him.
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘You never had to do anyuhjng.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘But i’m really disappointed that you thoughs had to do th`t to me. When I have never harmed you.’
Your pulse slows to normal.
You say to the ghost of Jance ‘I serve the Harcourts, sire. I’m just a servant girl.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘When I sat, rdspectful to you..’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘A downtrodden man already.’
You apologize profusely.
The ghost of Jance exclaims to you ‘Can you not see the pain in my life!’
You say ‘It was my duty, sire.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘Olease cepetsify me.. I will never harm you or your family.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘Ive never euen heard of the harcotrus.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘Out of respecu for Aise.. whp asked me to come here to get a symbol of my Lord.’
You say ‘The Harcourts attach themselves to Morea and this town, sire.’
The ghost of Jance asks to you ‘I am no threat to eitier Morea or this town! Did you not see me?’
You say ‘Their firstborn are Morean, their secondborn are Peacekeepers, sire.’
You apologize profusely.
The ghost of Jance asks to you ‘Will you turn me cack?’
You say to the ghost of Jance ‘If you swear never to assault any Moreans or peacekeepers, I will depetrify you, sire.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘I am a lone traveler. I do not fight Wars any more. That part of my life has past.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘I only wish Peace in my life now.’
You say ‘Sorry, but that is not the oath, sire.’
The ghost of Jance says to you ‘I will not asrault the peoplf you spoke of. They have destroyed my morale and defebted me.’
You say ‘Yes, sire.’
You start to concentrate.
You utter the words, ‘oculoszculayuqann’.
The ghost of Jance fades back into the ether.
You transmute Jance’s body back to flesh!
You start to concentrate.
Jance sighs.
Jance prays for transportation!
Jance disappears.
You utter the words, ‘zhpzcandusaryafw’.
You turn ethereal.
Better stand up first.
You rest your tired bones.
Coins carried: zero.
You have just begun your second-half journey to the next level.
You have only recently discovered this area.
You tell Jance ‘Sorry, but I had to, sire.’
Jance replies ‘I can’t belieue you did that..’
You tell Zafari ‘Sire Jance swore an oath never to assault Moreans or peacekeepers so I depetrified him, missus.’
Zafari replies ‘M’lady you are quite wonderful. Let us see if he lives to his oath.’
Jance tells you ‘Where is your sympathy fos such frail-ieaqted souls as myself?’
You tell Jance ‘I told missus Zafari of your oath, sire.’
You tell Jance ‘Sorry, sire, but I am merely a servant girl, sire.’

Absolute fun times.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
