Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

RS McCain Interviews US Senate Candidate Ted Cruz (R – TX)

Posted by John Hitchcock on 2011/10/08


RS McCain had an exclusive interview with former Texas Solicitor General Ted Cruz (R), who is running in the Primary for the US Senate seat currently held by Kay Bailey Hutchison (R – TX), at the Values Voter Summit.

Since RS McCain was very busy with the Summit and catching people to interview, he requested his readers to transcribe a couple of his interviews for him, which I was only too happy to do on this one.

McCain: We’re here at the Values Voters Summit in Washington, DC, with Ted Cruz, former Solicitor-General of Texas. How are you today, Mr Cruz?

Cruz: Doing fantastic, Robert.

McCain: And I understand you’re running for Senate.

Cruz: I am, running for US Senate in Texas, and we have seen some incredible momentum and excitement. We’ve really seen Conservatives across the state of Texas and nationally uniting behind our campaign.

McCain: And as some people have compared you to Marco Rubio, as the “Marco Rubio of Texas”, you are yourself also Cuban.

Cruz: Well, that’s right. And that’s an incredibly kind comparison. Marco and I share a very similar personal story, which is that my dad is from Cuba, he was born there, he grew up there, and he was imprisoned and tortured in Cuba as a teenager when he was 17. And he fled Cuba, he came to the United States. When he was 18, he showed up in Austin. Had no money, didn’t speak English, had 100 dollars sewn into his underwear, and he went and got a job as a dishwasher making 50 cents an hour. And he worked 7 days a week and he paid his way through school at the University of Texas. And I’ll tell you, Robert, when I was a kid my dad used to say to me all the time, “when we faced depression in Cuba, I had a place to flee to. If we lose our freedom here, where do we go?” And there’s no question that better explains why it is I’m running for Senate than that question right there.

McCain: And so your website is?

Cruz: It’s tedcruz.org. Tedcruz.org and we’re also on FaceBook. We’ve got over 64,000 supporters on FaceBook nationwide. What we are doing is building a Conservative TEA Party Army all across Texas and all across the country. And we have seen tremendous support. Just this week, National Review magazine made the very generous decision to put our campaign on the cover of the magazine. And I’ll tell you, Robert, the last US Senate candidate who they put on the cover was Marco Rubio almost exactly two years ago. And it worked out pretty well the last time. I hope we see the same result here.

McCain: Alright, well good luck to you, Ted Cruz. That’s tedcruz.org.

Cruz: That’s it.

McCain: Alright, thank you.

RS McCain is definitely in Cruz’ corner, as is Senator Jim DeMint. Jazz Shaw at Hot Air (who linked to RS McCain’s interview and quoted part of my transcription (woohoo)) seems to think Cruz may well be a strong Republican up-and-comer. And Instapundit thought well enough of the Ted Cruz interview that he gave RS McCain an Instalanche.

As Jazz Shaw said, “It’s probably worth your time to check him out.” And I believe I have found who I will be voting for in the US Senate Primary in Texas next year.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
