Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Old McDonald(s)

Posted by DNW on 2011/09/30


 

 

While I have a moment here I might as well comment on a phenomenon I’ve noticed recently; though I make no claim that it is a necessarily recent phenomenon, nor that it is a widespread one. Just one that a potential variation from my normal habits caused me to take note of.

I think in the last several months it’s happened about oh, three or four times, maybe five times.

While driving to the office relatively late, and after not having eaten breakfast, it occurred to me to take advantage of the “drive-thru” at a McDonalds which is a couple miles from my house and which I pass by on my way to the office.

Now, I know it’s not exactly a healthy choice, and that even under time pressures, there are better alternatives. But I chose it anyway. See, I had a B-vitamin pill slurry sloshing nauseatingly around my otherwise empty stomach, and exemptions were justified. At least that’s what I told myself.

That said, there turned out to be no real reason for guilt after all. My new pathway to sin more resembled that of the kid who tries to buy beer and fails, than the one who succeeds.

For I was never able to force myself to bear the wait necessary to obtain said forbidden fruit. Why not? Well, in each instance there were nine or more cars lined up waiting to order. That’s why. The last two times, disbelieving what I was experiencing, I actually counted them: 13 and 11 respectively.

Now what this is all about is not really how many cars there were, nor my cholesterol saving impatience, but the socially significant fact of who was in all those cars that blocked my way and prevented my from fall from dietary grace.

Other than the couple of guys in tradesman vans you might expect, those populating the queues of suppliants yearning for the Mikey D experience, were nearly all very late middle-aged, or just-elderly, women.

That’s who, figuratively speaking, elbowed me out of the food line. A bunch of grandmas.

What’s the world coming to when even Grandma can’t be trusted to do the right thing, while I do the wrong?

Now, if you want to split hairs, they are of course, technically speaking,  free to eat whatever they like.  And, if you insist on being a killjoy about it, I guess I don’t really even know for certain what it was that they were buying there at McDonalds, at 9:30 in the morning.

But it just kind of surprised me, and brought home more forcefully than ever, how the generations now living, even the older generations, are so thoroughly co-opted by, and apparently comfortable with, “the program”.

And … and … well,  who can we rely on to do the right thing,  if we can’t rely on America’s old ladies? I mean, shouldn’t they be pruning roses, or watering the raspberry patch, or interfering in vestry affairs, rather than spewing carbon monoxide into the atmosphere and shamelessly gorging themselves on Egg McMuffins?

Aren’t there even any sixties era types left who remain true to the “whole foods” movement, and who, as a result, do not conspicuously clog up the McDonalds’ drive-thru??

They must still exist somewhere! Just look at how many Democrats continue to be elected.

I guess it’s just that they, and their McDonalds, are found in another part of town …

8 Responses to “Old McDonald(s)”

  1. Foxfier said

    Might wanna watch that “grandma” stuff– our host might take offense. ;^p

    Going off of what the umpty-ump folks in front of me, when I treat myself, they’re all there for candy-coffees of even quality for half the price of the drive-through stands*.

    Kinda funny to listen to ’em talk about how horrible it is that nobody joins the service organizations, now that the Greatest Generation are dying. (Been going on most of my life… only recently realized that the folks complaining are the same ones that fail to join….)

    (Is it as good as the best “small business” stand coffee I’ve ever had? No. Is it above average? Yes, although I’ve had some REALLY bad luck with stands. Have I ever had consistent quality from any stand? Yes, but the hardware store doesn’t open until 10.)

    Like

  2. AOTC said

    i hit the drive through at mickey d’s a couple times a month. i would go more but if i did i would probably be as big as a cow, lol. when i have my 4 year old niece with me people might think she is my grandkid now that i think of it…

    i turned 50 a couple weeks ago. i am slightly freaked out that technically i could be one of the grannys in line at mcdonalds that dnw saw… yikes.

    see, now i am distracted. i had a point about ‘food cultists’ and their relationship to ideology and ideologues and whatnot … but for some reason the realization of being 50 is once again in the forefront. i dont feel 50. how did i get to be 50? hmmmm…

    Like

  3. DNW said

    “(Is it as good as the best “small business” stand coffee I’ve ever had? No. Is it above average? Yes, although I’ve had some REALLY bad luck with stands. Have I ever had consistent quality from any stand? Yes, but the hardware store doesn’t open until 10.)”

    Regarding their coffee, I would agree with you with certain provisos. One being that you catch them at the right time of day and under the right circumstances.

    I can’t say how many times I’ve pulled off the I 79 Interstate at say, 10:30 am or 3 pm to coffee up, only to have some McDonald’s window clerk pawn off some caramelized dregs made from rusty tap water on me. I usually discover this about halfway up the Interstate re-entrance ramp.

    Yeah, I know. Try it when you are still in the parking lot …

    Like

  4. DNW said

    “i turned 50 a couple weeks ago.”

    Happy birthday.

    ” i am slightly freaked out that technically i could be one of the grannys in line at mcdonalds that dnw saw… yikes.”

    The grannies I saw were much older and looked it.

    “see, now i am distracted. i had a point about ‘food cultists’ and their relationship to ideology and ideologues and whatnot … but for some reason the realization of being 50 is once again in the forefront. ”

    Primitive people don’t even know how old they are in some cases. I don’t know what this has to do with your case, but maybe you can squeeze some comfort out of it somehow.

    “i dont feel 50. how did i get to be 50? hmmmm…”

    Clean living, probably.

    Like

  5. AOTC said

    “Primitive people don’t even know how old they are in some cases. I don’t know what this has to do with your case, but maybe you can squeeze some comfort out of it somehow.”

    LOL im over it now. we had our 27th wedding anniversary last week and that put it all in perspective again. mr aotc always has a way of uplifting me. a gal is allowed to stress about age for a moment, but only a moment. life is a great blessing.

    hey dnw, i drive under i79 several times a week. maybe you stopped at the same mc d’s as we do. lol

    Like

  6. DNW said

    The one on the N.C./Va. border just inside Va., on the east side of I 79, has some of the foulest coffee I know of.

    Like

  7. All coffee is foul, unless it’s so Irish it isn’t coffee anymore. Then it’s foul Irish.😉

    Like

  8. Foxfier said

    I can’t say how many times I’ve pulled off the I 79 Interstate at say, 10:30 am or 3 pm to coffee up, only to have some McDonald’s window clerk pawn off some caramelized dregs made from rusty tap water on me. I usually discover this about halfway up the Interstate re-entrance ramp.

    On a serious note– complain. Write in to McD’s, you can probably do it from the website. The whole big thing with McD’s– the reason they’re the go-to for brainless job cleches– is because everything is supposed to be following really basic directions. If they’re screwing up coffee, they’re probably screwing up other things, and might even be making food that isn’t safe.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
