Truth Before Dishonor

I would rather be right than popular

Last minute gift ideas

Posted by DNW on 2011/12/15


Looking to get your “better half” a gift that she will really remember this Christmas? Interested in preparing yourself for a future of solo, off-the-grid living and self-sufficiency?

Depending on your better half and her tastes and sense of humor, one might very well lead to the other.

On the other hand, there is just something really fascinating about the mere existence and persistance of certain classic or traditional technologies, into the modern age.

A famous example of this is the Morgan Roadster well known to every red blooded American boy who has had a brush with blue blooded British traditions.

2011 Morgan Roadster

At only 43,500 Pounds Sterling it’s a remarkable deal.

So, let’s say that you now have your roadster for those weekend trips to that hideaway in the woods. Out there beyond the range of the power poles and the vagaries of distilate hydrocarbon supplies, you still need to eat though. And presumably to cook. That bearskin rug in front of the crackling fireplace is less than an ideal food preparation site. It looks bad enough already with all those cracker crumbs and the stains from Cheez Whiz and cheap champagne.

What you need, is to add something reliable, something failsafe, to your cozy retreat. Something all-American traditional, yet modern too.

Forget the bottle gas.

What you obviously need is a coal burning cooking range. Yeah, you heard me, a coal burning range. A practical one though. Up to date, with the most modern 1950’s style improvements. Not some airy-fairy baroque monstrosity made by French talking Belgians, which will leave  your wife looking askance at you and your hunting buddies laughing their heads off.

But is there such a buggy whip still available? Well, are windmills and stock watering tanks and  authentic pickling crocks still made in the USA? In case you didn’t know, the answer is yes and yes. (But why in the world you insist that you want a pickling crock for your roadster is beyond my comprehension.)

Nonetheless, so as with them, so as with the Knox modern coal fired cooking range. You too can still have, if you act with decisiveness and alacrity, the last word, probably literally the last word, in a modernistic design, enamel finished (just like Laura Petrie had) coal cooking stove. Except the stove Dick Van Dyke’s wife had on TV wasn’t coal fired. But no matter, it was avocado or gold enamel, just like these.     Probably.

Modern Coal Stove

Made in the USA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, make your wife happy with the most modern of conveniences. Heat your house or cottage as a byproduct. Cool the earth through the emission of protective sulfur dioxide particulate.  Show your disdain for Al Gore’s hyperventilating hyperbole; and teach Toronto a lesson in gratitude by reminding them in a small way of what it would be like to live downwind of a country like  China –  if we really wanted to get tough.

And as always, “Buy American” … unless it’s something really cool that isn’t made here at all.

 

 

A more serious note:

During the course of my researches on “cottage”  heaters I naturally came across many companies still engaged in the business of producing wood and coal burning heaters in the United States, as well as other retro technologies such as propane powered ammonia refrigerant refrigerators, and so forth. As a matter of fact I even own  a dual fuel wood/coal heater with a lift top which supposedly exposes a cooking surface of some kind. I wouldn’t know for certain. I never installed it. It’s stored in the barn, still in the box it was purchased in 10 years ago. And too we all have friends with various kinds of Franklin fireplaces and fireplace inserts, so…

But I have to admit, when I stumbled across the ads for the coal ranges, I couldn’t help but be amazed that this kind of an everyday use type product (as opposed to a principally decorative object)  was still produced.

Please also note that this is a posting on interesting things still produced here, and in the case of the Morgan example, abroad. It is not a testimonial nor an advertisement. Neither Truth Before Dishonor, nor myself has any direct or indirect interest in, or profit relation to, anything linked.

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Last minute gift ideas”

  1. That’s not to say Truth Before Dishonor eschews the profit motive. Truth Before Dishonor would be more than happy to go “for-profit” and acquire advertisers that would more than pay for publication costs.

    As the proprietor of Truth Before Dishonor, I would gladly welcome a real revenue stream attached to my citizen-journalist publication. Word Press has offered me an opportunity to pay for my site, which would allow me to acquire advertisers paying for the privilege to advertise on my site, and I would do just that if I had the advertisers lined up to more than cover the cost of going “for pay”.

    Like

  2. Foxfier said

    I spent many years of my childhood in a house where the water from the hot water heater also passed through the kitchen stove– although it burned wood. (Or bark, usually.) I seem to remember my grandmother cooking on it sometimes, too, before my folks bought the house from her.

    The classic old ranges are pretty awesome–as is the new love for dutch oven cookery– even if I’m glad that I don’t need to cook with them!

    Like

  3. DNW said

    Foxfier said
    2011/12/15 at 18:11 e

    I spent many years of my childhood in a house where the water from the hot water heater also passed through the kitchen stove– although it burned wood. (..

    The classic old ranges are pretty awesome–as is the new love for dutch oven cookery– ”

    ” … the new love for dutch oven cookery …”

    What is that? Are you talking about outdoor campfire cooking?

    Like

  4. Foxfier said

    What is that? Are you talking about outdoor campfire cooking?

    It’s generally around campfires, but it’s not odd to have folks set up a pit in their back yard if they’re really into it, and lots of odd places as well. Those big, cast iron pots with flat lids? I know a lady who makes German chocolate cakes and pineapple turnover cake in those things! (She gets paid to go on “wagon trains” and do this.)

    here is a page on it, here’s one on the ovens, and here’s one on a class in the stuff.

    Like

  5. Dana Pico said

    I could see Elaine and me in the Roadster, so whoever has an extra £43,500 laying around doing nothing . . . .

    Like

  6. Dana Pico said

    As were were driving to Allentown to do some Christmas shopping yesterday, I mentioned to my darling bride that she could get that 2011 Morgan Roadster for me, and that it was only £43,500. She asked, “How many dollars is that?”

    “About 70,” I replied. Hey, if it’s only $70, we can afford it!

    Right now, the conversion rate is £1.00 = $1.5498, so the Roadster would cost $67,416.30; not too bad a guess for not having the numbers or a calculator in front of me.

    Like

  7. DNW said

    Dana Pico said
    2011/12/18 at 09:42

    As were were driving to Allentown to do some Christmas shopping yesterday, I mentioned to my darling bride that she could get that 2011 Morgan Roadster for me, and that it was only £43,500. She asked, “How many dollars is that?”

    “About 70,” I replied. Hey, if it’s only $70, we can afford it!

    Right now, the conversion rate is £1.00 = $1.5498, so the Roadster would cost $67,416.30; not too bad a guess for not having the numbers or a calculator in front of me.”

    Still, it’s kind of pricey . Well there’s always the coal stove for around eighteen-hundred bucks. You can’t drive it; but after Perry and kind finishes destroying the economy with their centralized planning and social justice redistribution policies you’ll at least be able to cook diner with coal you have scavenged locally. If they let you burn coal that is.

    Like

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 215 other followers